Home | About PATA Member Associations | TB Partners | Pictures Gallery | E-Newsletters | TB Information | Contact |

Pakistan Anti TB Association

News Update

Search The Web

Health Complex,
16-K, Gulberg III,
Lahore, Pakistan.

The Global Fund The Union (IUATLD) National TB Control Program (NTP) STOP TB Partnership

Formation of SEAR

The Union in its General Assembly on 22nd October, 2005 at Paris, approved the division of eastern region as South East Asian Region (SEAR) and Asia Pacific Region (APR). The SEAR comprises of seven high burden and poor resource countries i.e. India, Pakistan, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Myanmar and Afghanistan. Chaudhary Muhammad Nawaz, President, Pakistan Anti TB Association was given rapporeteurship in the first coordination committee meeting held in India in 2006. Formerly, he was the member executive committee of IUATLD Eastern Region and held the position for four year till 1999 and then he was elected as president of IUATLD-ER from 2003 to 2005 in Katmandu, Nepal.

In 2009 President PATA was nominated as Member Board of Directors of The Union to represent SEAR.

Chaudhary Muhammad Nawaz, President PATA giving closing remarks at 1st International Conference
of SEAR at New Delhi, India, 8-10 September, 2006